Senate Finance Committee Approves Nominees to the Social Security Advisory Board

Last week the Senate Committee on Finance approved three nominees to the Social Security Advisory Board (SSAB): Doctors Henry Aaron, Lanhee Chen, and Alan Cohen. Dr. Aaron was approved by a 13-11 vote and Doctors Chen and Cohen were approved unanimously. The SSAB is an independent, bipartisan board created by Congress and appointed by the President and the Congress to advise the President, the Congress, and the Commissioner of Social Security on matters related to the Social Security and Supplemental Security Income programs. A vote by the full Senate has not yet been scheduled.

%d bloggers like this: