Budget Conference Committee to Hold First Meeting This Week

The special House Senate Budget Conference Committee created by the deal to end the government shutdown and extend the debt ceiling will hold its first meeting on Wednesday. The Committee is charged with coming up with long-term spending plans by December 13. It will seek to find common ground between the FY 2014 House and Senate Budgets that were passed earlier this year, which had starkly different spending and revenue goals. See a comparison of the House and Senate 2014 Budget plans for Medicaid, Social Security, SSI, and other programs at: http://arcinsider.wpengine.com/2013/03/25/house-and-senate-pass-fiscal-year-2014-budget-resolutions/

The 29 members of the Budget Conference Committee are:

House members Senate members
Diane Black (R-TN)
Tom Cole (R-OK)
James Clyburn (D-SC)
Nita Lowey (D-NY)
Tom Price (R-GA)
Paul Ryan (R-WI) – Chair
Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Chris Coons (D-DE)
Mike Enzi (R-WY)
Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Charles Grassley (R-IA)
Ron Johnson (R-WI)
Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Angus King (I-ME)
Patty Murray (D-WA) – Vice Chair
Jeff Merkely (D-OR)
Rob Portman (R-OH)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)
Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Pat Toomey (R-PA)
Mark Warner (D-VA)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Roger Wicker (R-MS)
%d bloggers like this: