113th Congress sworn in; Nearly 100 new members take office

The 113th Congress (2013-2014) convened on Thursday with eighty-two freshmen lawmakers in the House and twelve in the Senate. Despite modest gains by Democrats, party breakdown will remain mostly unchanged. Democrats will still control the Senate, 55 to 45, and Republicans will still have a majority in the House of Representatives, 233 to 200 (with two vacancies for seats which were held by Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-IL) and Tim Scott (R-SC)).  The new Congress is more diverse, with women now comprising 20 percent of the Senate and nearly 18 percent of the House.

The House of Representatives re-elected Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) as Speaker of the House. Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) returns as House Minority Leader. The Senate leadership remains unchanged, with Senator Harry Reid (D-NV) as Majority Leader and Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) as Minority Leader. A number of important new Senate Committee chairs were also announced. Of particular interest to the disability community are Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), Chair of the Budget Committee, and Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Chair of the Appropriations Committee. Other assignments to committees that are important to the disability community will be finalized in the near future.

To see the list of new members of Congress, see:
To see the list of members who have not returned from the last Congress, see:

%d bloggers like this: