No Child Left Behind

Twenty-seven additional states submitted requests to the Department of Education for waivers from provisions of No Child Left Behind. The states are: Arkansas, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and D.C. The applications and the names of the peer reviewers who will meet next month to review them will be posted on the Department’s website soon. The remaining states will have a third opportunity to requests waivers. The deadline for round three is September 6. To assist the 27 states in designing their waiver requests, the Department developed a summary of issues and recommendations noted by peer reviewers during the first round of applications. To read the document, go to and click on Considerations to Strengthen State Requests.

%d bloggers like this: