Elementary and Secondary Education Act waivers

The Department of Education granted approval to 10 states to waive some of the requirements of No Child Left Behind – NCLB (the current name of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act – ESEA) in exchange for demonstrating how they will prepare students for college and careers and focus help on the worst performing schools. The first states to receive waivers are Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee. New Mexico did not receive approval but is continuing to work with the Department.
The Peer Panel Notes for each state pointed out strengths and weaknesses of the requests that state’s had to address prior to receiving final approval.  The peer review panels found weaknesses (and made suggestions for technical assistance) in areas of the plans that failed to adequately address the needs of students with disabilities.  How states plan to address those weaknesses is detailed in the final approved waivers.
%d bloggers like this: