No Child Left Behind Act reauthorization

Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) announced that the bill to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Education Act/No Child Left Behind will not reach the Senate floor until next year.  Meanwhile, eleven states (Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Tennessee) have submitted requests to the Department of Education for waivers from provisions of No Child Left Behind.  Reviewers chosen by the Department will begin to review the requests after Thanksgiving and states will be notified by mid-January.  The states must set college and career ready performance targets and design interventions for low performing schools.  Reviewers include professionals with special education expertise.

%d bloggers like this: