House Committee rosters growing

The following list of assignments to House committees that are important for disability policy is based on committee announcements, and is therefore not official. Formal committee assignments will be announced after January 5 when the 112th Congress convenes.

Committee on Education and the Workforce (oversees Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Vocational Rehabilitation, employment, and other programs).  Republicans: Lou Barlett (PA), Judy Biggert (IL), Rob Bishop (UT), Larry Bucshon (IN), Scott DesJarlais (TN), Virginia Foxx (NC), Richard Hanna (NY), Joe Heck (NV), Duncan Hunter (CA), Mike Kelly (PA), Howard P. “Buck” McKeon (CA), John Kline (MN), Kristi Noem (SD), Tom Petri (WI), Todd R. Platts (PA), David P. Roe (TN), Todd Rokita (IN), Glenn Thompson (PA), and Tim Walberg, MI.  Democrats: No announcements to date.

Committee on Energy and Commerce (oversees Medicaid and Development Disabilities (DD) Act programs).  Republicans: Joe L. Barton (TX), Marsha Blackburn (TN), Mary Bono Mack (California), Michael C. Burgess (TX), Lee Terry (NE), Fred Upton (MI), Tim Murphy (PA), Sue Myrick (NC), Joe Pitts (PA), John Shimkus (IL), Cliff Stearns (FL), John Sullivan (OK), Greg Waldem (OR), and Edward Whitfield (KY). Democrats: No announcements to date.

Committee on Financial Services (oversees Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Section 8 and Section 811 supportive housing for persons with disabilities programs).  Republicans: Spencer Bachus (AL), Francisco “Quico” Canseco (TX), Robert Dold (IL), Sean P. Duffy (WI), Michael G. Fitzpatrick (PA), Michael Grimm (NY), Nan Hayworth (NY), Bill Huizenga (MI), Randy Hultgren (IL), Robert Hurt (VA), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO), Steve Pearce (NM), Steve Stivers (OH), and Lynn Westmoreland (GA). Democrats: No announcements to date.

Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure (oversees mass transit, paratransit, aviation and other transportation programs).  Republicans: Lou Barletta (PA), Larry Bucshon (IN), Chip Cravaack (MN), Rick Crawford (AR), Jeff Denham (CA), Blake Farenthold (TX), Stephen Fincher (TN), Bob Gibbs (OH), Bob Guinta (NH), Richard Hanna (NY), Andy Harris (MD), Jaime Herrera (WA), Randy Hultgren (IL), Jeff Landry (LA), James Lankford (OK), Billy Long (MO), John L. Mica (FL), Tom Reed (NY), Jim Renacci (OH), Tim Scott (SC), and Daniel Webster (FL). Democrats: Nick J. Rahall (WV).

Committee on Ways and Means (oversees Social Security, SSI, and Medicare). Republicans: Dave Camp (MI).  Democrats: Sander M. Levin (MI).

%d bloggers like this: